A Reminder

 

phil 2_1-2

The new year is upon us. A lot of reflection took place over the last few weeks. New resolutions were made along with resolutions not to make resolutions. I’m one of those that resolves not to resolve. Each year January 1st comes and goes just as December 31st did the day before, and I still have to ask “what day is it?” every single day until I return to work. This morning, five days into the new year, my Bible studies landed me in Philippians. While I’m still not resolving, I am reminding.

Paul was speaking to the early church in Philippi, a Roman colony, when he wrote the book of Philippians.  He had established the church a few years prior but had received word the people needed to hear from him. He had a few intentions with writing this, but one, the one that caused me to stop and spend some time on a few verses, was to encourage unity among them. Sometimes it’s hard isn’t it? It’s hard to remember that we, believers, are the body of Christ. One body working together to serve one purpose. Paul knew it was hard too. He said, if there is any encouragement in Christ, any consolation of love…make my joy complete by being of the same mind, maintaining the same love, united in spirit, intent on one purpose.  Read the first part of that again, encouragement in Christ…consolation of love. The Greek word used for encouragement actually means to come alongside and help, counsel, exhort. The Greek word translated to consolation was used to express more than simply offering comfort. Consolation of love creates the image of the Lord moving in closely, softly speaking words of gentleness and counsel in His child’s ear. Isn’t that a beautiful image as a child of God. My prayer for this new year is to remember when I feel a little (or a lot) fatigued in my walk in the body of Christ, my Heavenly Father is walking by my side whispering sweet words of love in my ear.

Therefore if there is any encouragement in Christ, if there is any consolation of love, if there is any fellowship of the Spirit, if any affection and compassion, make my joy complete by being of the same mind, maintaining the same love, united in spirit, intent on one purpose. (Phil 2:1-2)

MacArthur, John. The MacArthur Study Bible, NASB (Kindle Locations 293151-293158). Thomas Nelson. Kindle Edition.

About alora1018

As I face personal challenges, I find the more time I spend in His word, the easier I rest in His arms. I will use this blog to express thoughts and emotions as I spend time in His word.
This entry was posted in Christian Living and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment