Who’s Encouraging My Children?

I’m working to move a lot of my personal, pen and paper journal to this blog. This post was from my journal and was written to me from me.

As a Christian parent, I am often moved by the supporting roles in the bible – the parents. John the Baptist was born to Zacharias, a priest who was married to Moses’ niece Elizabeth. They followed God’s commandments but Elizabeth was barren.  When God sent His angel Gabriel to tell Zacharias they would finally have a son, they were told,  “He will be great in the sight of the Lord… and will be filled with the Holy Spirit while yet in his mother’s womb.  And he will turn many of the sons of Israel back to the Lord their God.” (Luke 1: 15-16).

As parents who loved God, it must have been exciting to know their child would play a key role in “turning back many of the sons of Israel.”  When Elizabeth sang him to sleep at night, did she whisper in his ear his importance in God’s plan?  Did she watch him play in the afternoon and wonder how God would use him?  Did she constantly encourage him and tenderly say, “I can’t wait for what God has in store for you!”  I imagine she did.  I can almost feel her pride as I think about her watching him grow into a man.

Would we raise our children differently if Gabriel visited us to tell us God’s plan for our children?  Would our choices in music, television, books, or every day speech be different?  But God actually says throughout the bible He has a plan for all of us.  All of us.  That includes my children.  As I watch them grow, I should be equally excited for my children as Elizabeth was for hers.  It should inspire me to see the sweet, humble spirit of my athletically talented son, or the compassionate heart of my bubbly middle child or the protective nature of my toddler.  As a mother, I should encourage my children and constantly remind them that God has a plan for them. For so long I’ve wondered what God’s plan is for me.  What if it is something so simple as being excited for His plan for my children? I pray God uses me to gently guide them in His direction.

Jeremiah 29:11

About alora1018

As I face personal challenges, I find the more time I spend in His word, the easier I rest in His arms. I will use this blog to express thoughts and emotions as I spend time in His word.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

